Yesterday I (Scott) was doing a little spring cleaning when I noticed some papers had fallen behind our computer desk. I reached around and pulled them out...and was shocked to see that they were thank you notes that had been written but never mailed. We've been married for 7 months tomorrow, and they still haven't been mailed! So...I give up.
They were for Carter, Chris Smith's family, Ed and April Heztel, The Crapets (from FBC Hoover), and Jennifer. I have no idea who Jennifer is...Lyndsay only wrote her first name on the envelope with no address.
So, to Carter, the Smiths, Ed, April, Crapet Family, and Jennifer, thank you for our great gifts. I apologize for our ignorance in thanking you thus far, but know that Lyndsay and I are enjoying our gifts (except Jennifer, I think I actually remember what each of you got us, and they were all very nice gifts)
As readers of this blog, if you see any of these people, it is now your responsiblity to pass along our thank-you. As for Jennifer...well, I guess you can just thank anyone named Jennifer who might have given us a wedding present. That oughta do the trick.
Sunday, April 23, 2006
...Still saying "Thank You"...
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
1:23 PM
Friday, April 21, 2006
Us vs. Blockbuster, somebody won but we're not sure who...
Yesterday, Scott took the day off, so we decided to see a dollar movie. Great idea, entertainment for only two dollars. So we get there and naturally there is a reason why they're only a dollar. There was nothing worth watching. So now the two options are buying a cheap Wal-mart DVD or renting from Blockbuster. We rationalized that buying a movie from Wal-mart could potentially be cheaper than renting, when you think about late fees. We got to Wal-mart and our movie choices went from bad to worse, definitely not worth spending $7.50 on (us Crews' are so cheap). Finally, after much negotiation we ended up in Blockbuster to get our $4.50 rental...dum dum dum....
We step up to the counter with our proud selection of "Mr. and Mrs. Smith". As we are about to rent the movie, the cashier makes THE COMMENT. "We have a 'buy two previewed movies and get two free' deal going on right now." Of course, I think "What a bargain!" and I hear the expected "Ugh" out of Scott. I said, "Maybe we can just look and see what they have."
Then we saw it..."Mr. and Mrs. Smith" $10.00 to be ours forever. Then other movies started to pop out. "Oh look Scott, Walk the Line. We haven't seen that yet. Ooh, Bewitched. I know it got bad reviews but I thought it was cute movie! And Just Like Heaven...Scott look at all the options. I've already picked out my four." Scott then did the unthinkable. He pried my fingers off the DVDs and began setting them back on the shelf. "Aww Scott, you're mean." He was feeling guilty and then he saw it. Cinderella Man. So we compromised two for me and two for him. The price tag? A mere $28.00. So much for being cheap. I still think it's a bargain, and as for Scott...well the jury is still out.
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
6:02 PM
Saturday, April 08, 2006
Wrong Number!
Last weekend Lyndsay was cooking up something special but needed a couple of last minute ingredients. Being the good husband that I am, I (Scott) volunteered to run to the store and grab them. Okay...actually Lyndsay volunteered me for the job. But, I got up and did it. Strawberries and potato chips. Sure thing.
I walked out to the elevator and on the way down thought that it would be funny to call her, act dumb, and ask her to repeat the list again as if I forgot. Why? I don't know. It seemed funny to me. So I picked up my phone, found her name on my recent calls list, and pushed send. It rang...and...
"Hello?"
Me in a dumb voice:"I miss you already..." (it was the best I could come up with)
...awkward pause...
"Hello? Who is this?"
Me:"Lyndsay? ...I mean, is this Lyndsay?"
"No, this is Lyndsay's mother."
Ah! I just accidentally hit on my mother-in-law! How on earth did this happen? I was going to hang up out of embarrassment, but then I remembered that since I actually knew the person I was talking to, that wouldn't really escape the situation. So I just start apologizing, trying not to say anything else stupid. It was pretty funny. We ended up having a nice chat though.
It turned out that the day before Lyndsay had used my phone to call and wish her dad a happy birthday...which was saved on my phone under her name...so I dialed that number. So embarrassing!
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
12:49 PM
