Last weekend Lyndsay was cooking up something special but needed a couple of last minute ingredients. Being the good husband that I am, I (Scott) volunteered to run to the store and grab them. Okay...actually Lyndsay volunteered me for the job. But, I got up and did it. Strawberries and potato chips. Sure thing.
I walked out to the elevator and on the way down thought that it would be funny to call her, act dumb, and ask her to repeat the list again as if I forgot. Why? I don't know. It seemed funny to me. So I picked up my phone, found her name on my recent calls list, and pushed send. It rang...and...
"Hello?"
Me in a dumb voice:"I miss you already..." (it was the best I could come up with)
...awkward pause...
"Hello? Who is this?"
Me:"Lyndsay? ...I mean, is this Lyndsay?"
"No, this is Lyndsay's mother."
Ah! I just accidentally hit on my mother-in-law! How on earth did this happen? I was going to hang up out of embarrassment, but then I remembered that since I actually knew the person I was talking to, that wouldn't really escape the situation. So I just start apologizing, trying not to say anything else stupid. It was pretty funny. We ended up having a nice chat though.
It turned out that the day before Lyndsay had used my phone to call and wish her dad a happy birthday...which was saved on my phone under her name...so I dialed that number. So embarrassing!
Saturday, April 08, 2006
Wrong Number!
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
12:49 PM
