It's Sunday. We're still townhomeless.
On Friday, we did our final walkthrough at 1:30 PM, as expected. Everything went great. The builders had finished everything in record time. They had to do a ton of stuff to get it all ready on time, but they did it. Big thumbs up to Blake, our contractor, and to Centex Homes. They did an A+ job all the way through to completion of the townhouse.
So now all we have to do is buy it, right? Right.
So we get the call at 2:00 PM that we need to provide some more paperwork for our loan. We race around town getting it all faxed in, and head over to our appointment at 3:00 PM at the lawyer's office to close. We call the office ahead of time to verify our appointment, and it's still on, so we show up.
We sit in the lobby for about 20 minutes, and then our wonderful mortgage broker calls and tells us that there's no way we can close today, and that he can't understand why we would even show up.
...after some time passes, I tell him that I can't understand why he didn't show up. We had set the meeting at three. (Everything I learned in business school said that if you aren't going to be at a meeting, you call the people and say you aren't coming. And then you set a new time for the meeting. Obviously, he felt that doing neither of the above were necessary.)
So now we're incredibly disappointed, our family has flown and driven hundreds of miles to be here to help us move, and we're stuck tootling around Nashville, wasting our weekend doing nothing.
We're really not sure when or if this deal will ever go through now. While talking with the mortgage broker, he outlined three or four more things that have to happen before the deal can go through, all of which we'd never heard of before...confirming my original suspicion that these people have apparently never done anything like this before...or they would have been able to communicate the hurdles involved in this process long before we ran smack into them.
So...maybe we'll seal the deal this week. Or maybe August. Or maybe never. Who knows?
Sunday, July 23, 2006
...more of the same...
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
8:41 PM
Wednesday, July 19, 2006
Another hurdle...
Well, it's probably the same hurdle technically. The knuckleheads at CTX have finally gotten our loan document to the Tennessee Housing Agency for approval. Since an 8 hour turn around is obviously impossible, we'll be closing on Friday at 3. Maybe. Hopefully.
I sure hope so, since my(Scott's) family is coming in tomorrow to help move. Since we won't be able to move, we can instead sit around and talk about how incredibly hot it is here. ...yay.
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
7:06 AM
Monday, July 17, 2006
Hitting an obstacle...
Today was originally the day we were going to close on our town house. Unfortunately, that is not the case…
When we went for our final walkthrough last week, we found a wall that had a fairly large bow in it. I (Scott) being a stickler for detail, was instantly annoyed by it and demanded that it be corrected. I was met with opposition not by the contractor, but by Lyndsay, who determined that out of the 40 or so walls that were in the town house, having 39 straight ones was good enough…why bother asking for more.
The more I thought about it, the more it bothered me. The worst part was that it was right next to the toilet in the master bath. I was basically guaranteed a 3 to 5 minute time every day where I would be forced to sit down and look straight at it. I knew that wouldn’t would be good, so I called the contractor and he was happy fix it, though that would require push pushing closing back to Wednesday.
I also was glad the closing got moved back because it was looking like our financing was not going to be ready on time. Last Tuesday I learned that our mortgage would need five business days to get fully approved. In talking with our broker last week, I assumed we were talking about this step because he was going to submit my loan for approval. This afternoon I received an email from him notifying me that it would be submitted for approval tomorrow. What does this mean?
Not too sure. Assuming we actually get approved--which is still a maybe--we might actually get to move in sometime this month. And it means our financing people are slower than slow. And they don’t seem to care, really…which is the most frustrating part. CTX Mortgage gets two thumbs down.
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
7:50 PM
Friday, July 07, 2006
Our new town house...
In honor of it being a mere 10 days until our closing, I thought I'd post this old picture I found. We took it a while ago--now everything is finished. There is now nice sod where you see the bobcat bulldozer. And everything is paved too.
Since a picture is worth 1000 words, I'll let it provide you with the rest of words in this entry.
Yay!
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
10:41 AM
Monday, July 03, 2006
A mid-summer update
It’s been forever since we posted here, and I felt the need to bring everyone up to speed with what’s going on with us, so here’s the update! Note: This isn’t a funny update, so don’t get your hopes up or anything.
With our townhouse: We do a walkthrough with the contractor on Wednesday (July 5), and we’ll close in two weeks on July 17th! We’re really excited. We’re still going back and forth on crazy details like “should the fridge be the same brand as the oven and microwave?” and “would this room look better in ‘tan’ or ‘beige’?”
Lyndsay’s job: Lyndsay has a job! …at least for a little while, anyhow. She’s working with Favorite Nurses, a temp agency that matches her up somewhere every week. She likes it a lot so far, but it’s just a short term thing until something better comes along.
With summer weddings: So far we have been to a wedding each of the last three weekends, with two more coming up in the next two weekends! We have been lucky enough to get to see our friends Chris and Sallie, Gresham and Josie, and Carter and Kelli all get married. We’ve had a great time seeing friends and eating good food.
With funny things: Yeah, I guess they’ve been happening, but none are coming to mind right now. Lyndsay went to bed in her pajamas and woke up in her swimsuit last week with no clue what happened during the night. I guess she got really excited about the summer. That was pretty funny.
Anyhow, we’ll keep you posted as the time arrives and we begin the move and unpacking process. Have a great fourth of July!
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
7:58 PM
