It's Sunday. We're still townhomeless.
On Friday, we did our final walkthrough at 1:30 PM, as expected. Everything went great. The builders had finished everything in record time. They had to do a ton of stuff to get it all ready on time, but they did it. Big thumbs up to Blake, our contractor, and to Centex Homes. They did an A+ job all the way through to completion of the townhouse.
So now all we have to do is buy it, right? Right.
So we get the call at 2:00 PM that we need to provide some more paperwork for our loan. We race around town getting it all faxed in, and head over to our appointment at 3:00 PM at the lawyer's office to close. We call the office ahead of time to verify our appointment, and it's still on, so we show up.
We sit in the lobby for about 20 minutes, and then our wonderful mortgage broker calls and tells us that there's no way we can close today, and that he can't understand why we would even show up.
...after some time passes, I tell him that I can't understand why he didn't show up. We had set the meeting at three. (Everything I learned in business school said that if you aren't going to be at a meeting, you call the people and say you aren't coming. And then you set a new time for the meeting. Obviously, he felt that doing neither of the above were necessary.)
So now we're incredibly disappointed, our family has flown and driven hundreds of miles to be here to help us move, and we're stuck tootling around Nashville, wasting our weekend doing nothing.
We're really not sure when or if this deal will ever go through now. While talking with the mortgage broker, he outlined three or four more things that have to happen before the deal can go through, all of which we'd never heard of before...confirming my original suspicion that these people have apparently never done anything like this before...or they would have been able to communicate the hurdles involved in this process long before we ran smack into them.
So...maybe we'll seal the deal this week. Or maybe August. Or maybe never. Who knows?
Sunday, July 23, 2006
...more of the same...
Posted by
Scott and Lyndsay Crews
at
8:41 PM
